top of page

Le Grand Ballon d'Alsace

Le Grand Ballon, or the Big Balloon! It's the highest point in the Vosges and in all of Alsace at 4,672 ft. I had wanted to get up to this lookout point since I arrived. After all, I can see it from my front door and from my bedroom window! One of the teachers I work with has been very kind to take me out on day trips around the region to see the local beauty and charm, so this was our final trip before I leave in a few weeks.

It took about 30 minutes from Issenheim driving up a winding mountain road to get to the parking lot at the top. There are plenty of signs showing the different walking trails to the "belles vues". The signs even say how long it takes to walk each particular trail! We took the 45 minute trail that passes by the monument for the mountain rangers, or the Diables Bleus. This trail also goes to the Ballon itself, a big white "balloon" that is a radar station. It has a 360 degree balcony with a map showing the towns below. I spotted Guebwiller and Issenheim! We grabbed a drink at the hotel that's on the side of the mountain, then drove to Le Markstein.

Le Markstein is about a 15 minute drive from the Grand Ballon, and is where a lot of people in Alsace go skiing. There's a luge, more hiking, cows, and we saw a TON of paragliders above the mountain. I wish I had known there was a bus up to Le Markstein in the winter to go skiing, but I'm sure my wallet is grateful that I was unaware. The day that we visited was really nice weather--about 23 degrees Celsius/74 degrees Fahrenheit--so there were a lot of people out hiking, picnicking, and just enjoying the day.

After a lot of walking, snapping photos, and enjoying all of the wildflowers, we stopped at Lac de la Lauch for a quick lap around the water. I'm so bummed that all of this is so. close. to where I live, but is basically inaccessible without a car. I would love to spend an entire day walking around and enjoying a picnic with friends. At least I have my own little mountains and vineyard trails close to home.

I'm so grateful that I've had the chance to see a lot of Alsace in my short time here. Despite living in a fairly unexciting village, there's a lot of beauty to explore nearby. Photos of the views below!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page