top of page

"Tur-kay?" --every French student

Warning: mushy post ahead about what I'm grateful for this Thanksgiving!

This is my first Thanksgiving without family, and my first Thanksgiving that I have had to be at work instead of feasting and napping. But, there are still many, many things I'm thankful for this year.

-I'm thankful that all of my hard work paid off and I was accepted to TAPIF, obviously! No need to go into detail on that one.

-So far, I haven't gotten sick while living in France (knock on wood), and for that I am most certainly grateful! Still no sign of my carte vitale or sécu, and I really don't want to deal with finding a doc or feeling like crap while teaching. If anything, I feel much healthier than I did while living in the States. Walking and biking everywhere, eating real food that isn't made up of chemicals, and living a mostly stress-free life in a beautiful place have worked wonders on my wellbeing (and don't forget the bonus of having clear skin and pants that are steadily becoming bigger!).

-I've mentioned this in almost every post, but really, I am forever thankful that my time in France has been sweetened by being surrounded with kind people. There have definitely been some stinkers here and there, but I'll never forget the pleasant surprise of the great scope of friendliness I've been shown in France.

-How can I write a post about what I'm grateful for in France and not mention food? Thank God for French bread, wine, and cheese. Even the eggs are more delicious than in the U.S.

-Another thing I hold near and dear to my heart is how much encouragement and support I've received from people in my life in regards to this whole adventure. I would have done it anyway, but having people who are important to me cheering me on made it a lot easier to be excited and confident going into it.

-I've been lucky enough so far to not once have felt scared for my safety, even in the bigger cities. I wasn't sure what to expect, especially as a female, but so far, so good!

Honorable mentions: carbonara chips, Easyjet, having a bell on my bicycle, mountain views and hikes, new episodes of My Favorite Murder every week, having long legs with which to scuttle all over France like an armadillo at an inhuman pace, and international shipping from Colourpop.

Happy Thanksgiving to all who are reading this! May you end this day with a food baby in your tummy and happiness in your heart :)

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page